New UI theme for blog

I’d like to profusely thank Paul Watson and Jambo Johnson for their incredibly awesome tips and suggestions while I was setting up the new UI-design for the blog. I’ve got to say this of those two guys; Paul Watson is a CSS genius par compare and Jambo is – well smart at everything he does.

I changed the theme as the code snippets didn’t look too good in the previous theme I was using, and I had to wrap my code-lines to awfully small lengths. Now I hope the blog is a lot more readable than it previously was ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “New UI theme for blog

  1. Hmmmm, thanks Sonu. I get the bug too, I wonder why Matty didn’t get it though! *confused*

    I’ll have to try and figure out what’s wrong here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. I got it, just didn’t notice it. Something even weirder is that if you change the size of the IE window it resizes properly. It doesn’t show up in FireFox 0.8 though.

  3. Ok, I’ve fixed it. Essentially I had set the width of the textarea to 99% and for some reason it ignored the DIV parentage and tried to go as wide as the browser window. Weird behavior for sure, but anyway I’ve removed it – the side-effect being that the width is now fixed at about 70 characters, which should be okay I hope.

  4. Yaaaaaaaaaaaay, with some help from Smitha, I’ve fixed the fixed-width issue. The fixed width textarea resulted in a slight irregularity when browsing under 800×600 and so I wanted to change back to the CSS style setting of 99% width. But that had the problem Sonu and Matty described above, and Smitha helped me solve it. The solution is to give the immediate parent DIV tag a width of 100%, because otherwise the textarea inherits width from the grandparent which is the BODY tag and thus stretches to the browser width. But then that sort of makes it an IE bug considering that the expansion takes place only when you start typing on it. Thanks Smitha ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thanks Nish. So does that mean you are planning to buy me a double scoop ice cream at Baskin @31 Robbins? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

