My new car

I got my new car yesterday – went to Cochin, a city 220 KM away from Trivandrum, took it from the showroom and drove it all the way back to Trivandrum. It’s a Toyota Corolla H2 model – Black Mica body color.

I had to pay 88% more than what the same car costs in the US ๐Ÿ˜ฎ (I checked US prices on the web), but I am now used to paying more for everything, having lived in India for more than two decades. What tickles me no end is when people say that cost of living is lesser in India. Lesser, my foot! Everything costs 50% to 80% more than what it costs in the US/Canada. Oh well!

Anyway, I think I am gonna have fun driving around in my new car ๐Ÿ™‚

23 thoughts on “My new car

  1. When a lot of people talk about the ‘cost of living’, they think of stuff like food, housing etc… In most of the countries i’ve been to where the ‘cost of living’ is lower, Technology and automobiles tend to be more expensive. I’m speaking from my experiences in some countries, I’ve never been to India before so I wouldn’t know the cost of the basics.

  2. Nonny

    I guess you are right. Cost of basic stuff like food, rent are much lower than in the western world. It’s the tech stuff like computers, phones, cars etc that cost way way more ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Checked out ur blog today,looks good,WOW!!!Toyota Corolla H2 …hope i’ll get a lift sometime,btw I agree with the others,Toyota Corolla H2 is a luxury,remember more than 50% of our people are below the poverty line,hey! dont forget to pay ur taxes ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Great Nish! Congrats! And inform me when you come to Ernakulam next time so that i’ll get a ride… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Hey Dreamz

    It’s even better to know that you are originally from Trivandrum ๐Ÿ™‚ Though I haven’t travelled around all that much, from what little I have gone around, and from what little I’ve gathered otherwise, I honestly believe that Trivandrum is one of the best places in the world to live in, in many ways. In fact, no resume of mine exists that doesn’t mention my origins in Trivandrum ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. “Nice to know that someone based in Cochin reads my blog”
    Well, now does this make it doubly nice??

    Congrats young man!! Thou art the high n mighty owner of a Toyota Corolla …wat dost thou have to crib about now ??

  7. Hi Nish,
    Living in Trivandrum sucks! I lived there for 4 years. There is nothing to do except drink and lie flat. No fun. I ran away from it. There are better towns than TVM in south india.

    GSV

  8. hi!!is it!I heard somebody saying Trivandrum is the best city in the world to live!!with due respect to your comments,may i ask you why!!what the is there in Trivandrum except for dirty politicians??Also the temple and beach!!and u r saying it as best!!Go and see some cities like Kochi and Bangalore man!!Mind you Trivandrum by no standards is a city;it is a town only!!But the politicians have marked it as city etc!!!

Leave a Reply

