The glorious times of yore; or were they?

I hope I am not an exception, but when I look back at the various phases in my life, I’ve always felt that the previous phases were so wonderful and serene and how my life had deteriorated in various ways over the years. When I finished school and began my engineering course, I used to wistfully think of my school days and how life was so relaxed and uncomplicated back then compared to the scarily complicated incidents in my college life. Later when I got my first job and faced the difficulties associated with living on my own money, I looked back to my college days and wished that they weren’t already behind me.

It’s not just my social life or my finances that seem to have been so magnificent ages ago. When I sit in front of my laptop and play with VC++ 2005, I think back to my GWBASIC and MASM days of the early 90s. I’d probably have had reminiscences about punch cards too, except I wasn’t born when they used to punch holes into punch cards and call it programming. Good thing too, else I’d probably have got punched regularly for punching holes into someone else’s punch cards, given my absent minded nature and that all punch cards look pretty much alike.

Now I am 27 and am slowly approaching the staircase into middle age and I look back at my first job and have this idea thrust upon me by my illogical mind that life was so much more relaxed and safer then. I decided that enough was enough and that this past-glorification had to stop. So, I sat down and thought about this and weighed the pros and cons carefully and then weighed them once again just to be doubly sure. Guess what? Now that I have pondered over this phenomena of illogically glorifying the past, I realize that it’s just an irrational feeling – nothing more, nothing less. I better note down all the bad stuff that’s going on in my life right now, so that ten years henceforth, if I ever have this feeling that my life was so much more wonderful ten years ago (which’d be now), I can have the momentous satisfaction of taking these notes out and reading them aloud and after reading them aloud, I can tell the past-glorification portions of my brain to shut up and be damned!

12 thoughts on “The glorious times of yore; or were they?

  1. Too true, too true. It’s easy to remember only the happy moments, to condense them into a glowing nugget of pleasurable reminiscence that bears little resemblance to how you actually felt at the time. Nostalgia, that sickness of thoughts for places and people left behind, that disease for which we’ve given up hope for a cure, preferring to wade through the misery in romantic distraction…

  2. It could help if you could think of the good things you have now but didnt in the past when you could only dream of having them.

  3. wonders in upon crutches made of Windows… hands visibly shaking — you should hear a 65 y/o programmer i worked with tell tall tails of hard-disk-drives with hydraulically maneuvered heads — that shook an entire concrete building as they jerked to-and-fro (* wizened beard-fingering *QQ* *);

  4. “I would always feel in futher that present phases are so wonderful and serene and how my life would deteriorate in various ways(unknown)over the years to come.”

  5. Stop that, Nish – YOU’RE SCARING ME! I’m only 21 and I’m already feeling what you’re feeling. And to top it all you bring in talk about middle age. Help! I wanna be young and carefree again! 🙂

  6. Hey please don’t repeat that word ‘Middle Age’. When I was 21 , my friends used to say that we are no more teenagers. But really I was so young then. No I am 30 but I have stopped thinking about it and think I am too young to be thought as old. Look at some poeple older than us but condider themselves so youthful and act like in the same mode.. I am not saying u are having depressed outlok towards your age.

  7. Nish, there are some references about middle age in your blog. We IT people should take some excercises, meditation and have some extra funny activities to feel more energetic than to feel so geeeky. Best luck though. You are doing outstanding job. Best luck for your IT and personal life. Thanks -Cric. 🙂

Leave a Reply

