From Toronto

Okay, after some Visa delays, hurried packing and travelling, Smitha and I are in Toronto now. We haven’t fully settled down yet but it’s going to take time and we both know that too. Toronto is pretty big – specially for me, coming from Trivandrum as I am, and it’s quite similar to the US – not much difference between the USA and Canada as far as I could see. I’ve got lots of work to catch up on, lots of emails to read and reply to, and lots of settling down stuff to do here; so the next few weeks are going to be quite hectic. I’ve added a new “Toronto” category to the blog as you may have noticed, where I intend to write about my life here in Toronto with Smitha. That’s all for now🙂

18 thoughts on “From Toronto

  1. You may not want to be comparing the US and Canada, you may offend somebody. You may as well be comparing the US and Britain, and that would offend.😉

    Have fun in Toronto, keep us informed of your exploits!

  2. Hey Nish, welcome to the neighbourhood! I didn’t even know you were headed our way.
    Drop me an email and see if we can get together some time… come to my user group some time!

    Kate

  3. @JON: You may not want to be comparing the US and Canada, you may offend somebody. You may as well be comparing the US and Britain, and that would offend.

    pretty easy to read between the lines on that one, Jon. I suppose the greatest offence
    is the absense of pictures of the queen in public buildings. From my experience with
    Canadians, your intuition is correct — Canadians would be offended. I’ve yet to meet
    an American who would be particulary put out. What does that say to you?
    I wonder who in Britain would be offended?
    The Scotch? Welsh? Irish? Hmmmm. I wonder. I suppose comparing the US and Britain would
    give as much offence as, say, describing a Scotsman as “English”. Perhaps considerably less.
    Where does that leave us?

    1. Well Mr Anonymous it’s pretty easy to offend people and cultures by simple ignorance…

      “….I wonder who in Britain would be offended?
      The Scotch? Welsh? Irish? Hmmmm. I wonder. I suppose comparing the US and Britain would
      give as much offence as, say, describing a Scotsman as “English”….”

      or maybe describing a Scot as a “Scotch” which is actually highly offensive.

  4. The major difference between Canadians and Americans is that Canadians know the
    differences between Canadians and Americans. It may be funny, but it’s also true.
    Aside from opinions over who won the war of 1812, you will find coffee jargon varies
    dramatically. Also when you thank a Canadian they will generally reply “you’re welcome”
    and Americans tend to reply “mm-hmmm” which I find strangely disconcerting. Canadians also
    say sorry more often. Make of that what you will.

  5. Welcome to Toronto! I just left Toronto in May and I miss it, the food especially. There are some great Indian restaurants in town. Maybe not like home, but worth a try. Check out a place called Banjara on Yonge Street just south of Bloor (across from Spring Rolls). One of my favourites! By the way, thanks for all the tips over the years! You’ve really helped me out.

Leave a Reply

