The __FUNCSIG__ macro

I cannot believe that I didn’t know of this macro all this while. Countless times in the past, when I had to track the life-cycle of an object, I had put code such as printf("inside ctor") and printf("inside function F(int)") in my class, and now I find out that all I had to use was the __FUNCSIG__ macro.

ref class R
{
public:
    R()
    {
        Console::WriteLine(__FUNCSIG__);
    }
    void Hello()
    {
        Console::WriteLine(__FUNCSIG__);
    }
    ~R()
    {
        Console::WriteLine(__FUNCSIG__);
    }
    int index;
};

//...

    R^ r = gcnew R();
    r->Hello();
    delete r;

/*** Output

__clrcall R::R(void)
void __clrcall R::Hello(void)
__clrcall R::~R(void)

***/

Other similar macros are __FUNCDNAME__ which returns the decorated name and __FUNCTION__ which returns the undecorated name (without the full signature). These are available in VC++ 2003 and 2005, but I am not sure if they existed in VC++ 6, so perhaps someone could confirm that.

Posted in C++

3 thoughts on “The __FUNCSIG__ macro

Leave a Reply

