Please wait as I have to reboot my PC!

I’ve had some very interesting experiences when calling customer support, but last week a call to Comcast resulted in a whole new experience for me. After being on hold for about 5 minutes, listening to some of the most awful music you could possibly round up, a girl picks up. She greets me and then tells me apologetically (I hope) that her PC has got very slow and so she’s going to reboot it and will I please wait? For a profound few seconds, I stood there in incredulous shock. Though to be fair to her, she did come back after 3-4 minutes (pretty slow machine if it takes that long to boot) and she did help me out, and I somehow managed to resist making some weird joke asking her if she’d mind if I rebooted my PC as mine was getting a little slow too.

6 thoughts on “Please wait as I have to reboot my PC!

  1. I suppose it’s better than waiting 9 minutes with no human intervention. But even better would be for her not to have picked up and you could have gone to the next available operator. But then she would have appeared idle for the 4 minutes, and maybe that reflects badly on her. Aren’t you glad we have creative jobs that don’t work on the clock like that! 🙂

  2. Your pc boots faster than 3-4 minutes? Mine takes about that long. I have this weird
    thing where the whole thing seems to freeze while the desktop is blank and before the
    shortcuts show up (like 90 seconsd). It’s agravating. I think its Roxio or my HP
    DVD drive trying to connect drivers or something. I would be in heaven if my pc
    booted faster than 3 minutes!

  3. Its not so bad now is it? Customer services in India make you hold for no reason at all!
    20 minutes to answer the call, another 20 to talk to you and yet another 20 to help you. So
    that takes away a whole hour when you have nothing to do but sit with the phone and think
    about your phone bill!

  4. Its not so bad now is it? Customer services in India make you hold for no reason at all!
    20 minutes to answer the call, another 20 to talk to you and yet another 20 to help you. So
    that takes away a whole hour when you have nothing to do but sit with the phone and think
    about your phone bill!

  5. The main things that were beneficial here:
    1. Customer care representive was girl.
    2. She came back in or before time she had asked for.
    3. Problem resolved.
    I get angry when I don’t exact opposite to these three, as it happnes most of the time.

Leave a Reply

