When the pizza guy called me Neptune

Okay I’ve been called many things in my life, but this was a first for sure. My wife ordered pizza and I went to pick it up on my way home from work. She gave my name as Nish, and she spelled out the first letter as “N for Neptune”. I’ve heard her use “S for Saturn” too. Though they are both planets from her perspective I usually tell her that for a lot of folks, one of those is a car and the other’s an odd word they’ve never heard before. Anyway the guy on the phone wrote it down as Neptune. So when I went to pick it up I was addressed as Neptune, and though I was surprised I just thought I had misheard him. Then I saw my name on the receipt and there it was – “Neptune”. I didn’t bother correcting him of course, instead I put on my best “Lord of the sea” look and walked out with a godly swagger.

12 thoughts on “When the pizza guy called me Neptune

  1. You could try the NATO Phonetic Alphabet instead – they’re probably less likely to call you November.

    November India Sierra Hotel – hmm, actually that sounds too much like a place!

    I usually give my surname, but that’s impossible to spell out over the phone as well. Dee – Eye -Em – Em – Eye – See – Kay – they’re guaranteed to drop an M or use an N, or decide that they know how to spell my name better than I do and drop the C, replace the second I with an O. I’ve had BIMMICK on parcels before.

    I also have a recursive first name: Mike India Kilo Echo.

  2. Actually you should thank your wife in saying Neptune coz you could leave the shop head high..
    What if she said N for Naughty or worse Nishant .. 😀

  3. hilarious!

    “I didn’t bother correcting him of course, instead I put on my best “Lord of the sea” look and walked out with a godly swagger.”

    :-))

Leave a Reply

