Visual C++ WinRT FAQ – Winsock and other APIs

When migrating apps or libraries that use sockets to WinRT, the absence of Winsock is often one of the first hurdles for many C++ devs. The suggested alternative to Winsock is to use the Windows.Networking.Sockets namespace. For a full list of alternate APIs that replace existing ones, see:

Be aware that you will most likely not get a one-to-one mapping for various API functions and structures. So you should fully expect to re-design and workaround that and use alternate approaches to achieving the same functionality/usability.

One thought on “Visual C++ WinRT FAQ – Winsock and other APIs

  1. Nish, this isn’t relevant to this thread. I have a few questions to ask you about MFC, questions I want to address to you particularly, and some questions about WinRT and VBA, and I saw no better way than this to contact you.

    With respect to MFC, I was impressed with the clarity and directness of your explanation of a minimal MFC program. I want to learn MFC and have questions that I think will call for something of a conversation rather than a one-off answer.

    I have something to offer in exchange. I am a very good cook and baker. I’ve worked as both professionally and the family and friends for whom I prepare meals hold my work in high regard. I can teach, too. If you’re still interested in learning to make dishes or meals that will please and impress your wife and other family, I would love to assist and guide you, just as I seek your assistance and guidance in learning important aspects of the structure and organization of MFC.

    You have my email. Reply to me, please, however you feel about my requests and offer, and remove this post from your blog.


Leave a Reply

